Skip navigation
Government of South Australia - Department of State Development


    South Australian researchers take on urgent sustainability challenges

    South Australia is set to benefit from significant Australian Government and private investment into two new Cooperative Research Centres (CRCs), one designed to confront antimicrobial resistance and the other to safeguard the sustainability of the Murray-Darling Basin.

    Almost $150 million in Australian Government, university and private funding has been committed to establish the new Cooperative Research Centre for Solving Antimicrobial Resistance in Agribusiness, Food and Environments (CRC SAAFE).

    Head-quartered at the University of South Australia, CRC SAAFE brings together more than 70 businesses, industry and research bodies to find solutions to the pressing food, agricultural, environmental and economic challenges arising as a result of increased resistance to antibiotics, antifungals and antivirals.

    Additionally, through the Goyder Institute, South Australia will play a crucial role in the national One Basin Cooperative Research Centre (One Basin CRC), launched to increase agricultural production while ensuring environmental resilience and sustainability of the Murray-Darling Basin.

    Led by the University of Melbourne, this $106.5 million partnership will see regional hubs established in South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria.

    The CRC Program is an Australian Government initiative funding innovative collaborations between industry, researchers and end users. CRCs are industry-led and supported for up to 10 years.

    Up Next

    19th Jun 2022

    $10 million live music support package launches