Skip navigation
Government of South Australia - Department of State Development


    Recognising SA’s top STEMM achievers

    Recognising SA’s top STEMM achievers

    The South Australian Government has named 18 outstanding STEMM professionals and teams as finalists in the 2022 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

    While the finalists span a wide range of disciplines—including ecology, conservation and sustainability, health and wellbeing, frontier technologies, education, and geology—they share a passion for scientific exploration, wonder, and the exchange of knowledge and ideas.

    In the running for the title of SA Scientist of the Year is Professor Corey Bradshaw, the Matthew Flinders Professor of Global Ecology at Flinders University.

    Professor Bradshaw designs models and applies mathematics to find solutions to the global biodiversity extinction crisis. His research found that invasive species are costing the Australian economy at least $24 billion per year.

    The other contenders for this title are Professor Maria Makrides, who leads a multidisciplinary team of over 70 staff and students to conduct world-class research on mother-infant nutrition at SAHMRI, and The University of Adelaide’s Professor Peter Veitch, an internationally recognised instrumentation scientist focussed on the invention and application of lasers and photonic sensors.

    Winners of the 2022 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards will be announced at a celebratory dinner in November, thanks to Platinum Sponsors Novatech Creative Event Technology, Commonwealth Bank, and Telstra.

    Up Next

    20th Jul 2022

    All aboard the Kindship – parents helping others in the same boat