Skip navigation
Government of South Australia - Department of State Development


    Meet the 2024 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards finalists

    A cohort of exceptional South Australian Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) professionals have been selected as finalists in the 2024 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

    Finalists were selected from a pool of talented nominees based on the merit of their recent achievements, as well as the profound health, social, economic, health or environmental impact of their work.

    In the running for the Awards’ highest honour, the title of 2024 SA Scientist of the Year, include Professor Jamie Craig whose collaboration with industry has enabled the development of tests that improve glaucoma detection and management, ultimately saving a patients’ sight.

    Other contenders include Professor Matthew Gilliham whose work is redefining Australia’s roles in space and on-Earth biomanufacturing and spearheading innovation in South Australian agriculture, and Professor Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem who is developing new forms of optical glass and fibres, including an innovation with potential to revolutionise global internet connectivity and data transfer.

    Winners of the 2024 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards will be announced at an Awards Ceremony on Friday, 8 November 2024 in Adelaide.