Department of State Development

Congratulations to the 2017 South Australian Science Excellence Awards finalists.

More than 70 entries were received across the six categories. Finalists include recent PhD graduates and researchers, innovators, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) professionals and educators.

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner to be held on Friday, 11 August at the Adelaide Convention Centre. 

South Australian Scientist of the Year

  • Professor Anton van den Hengel, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Bronwyn Gillanders, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Sharad Kumar, University of South Australia
  • Professor James Paton, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Mike Bull, Flinders University

PhD Research Excellence

  • Dr Joel Fuller, University of South Australia
  • Dr Hannah Wardill, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Lee-anne Chapple, University of Adelaide

STEM Educator of the Year – School Teaching

  • Ms Christie Evans, Edwardstown Primary School
  • Ms Anthea Ponte, Rose Park Primary School
  • Mr Thierry Herman, Le Fevre High School

STEM Educator of the Year – Tertiary Teaching

  • Professor Mario Ricci, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Claudia Szabo, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Maurizio Costabile, University of South Australia

Excellence in Research Collaboration

  • Developing a world leading intelligent medical device in South Australia, University of Adelaide, Australian Centre for Visual Technologies and LBT Innovations Ltd
  • Using Public Data for Public Good, South Australian Early Childhood Data Project
  • Great Australian Bight Research Program, BP, CSIRO, SARDI, University of Adelaide and Flinders University

STEM Professional

  • Associate Professor Leah Cosgrove, CSIRO
  • Dr Duncan Taylor, Forensic Science SA
  • Mr Emilio De Stefano, De Stefano and Co

Tall Poppy

  • Dr Lisa Beatty, Flinders University
  • Dr Kate Fennell, University of South Australia
  • Dr Ashleigh Smith, University of South Australia
  • Dr Laura Weyrich, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science

  • Professor Rachel Burton, The University of Adelaide
  • Peri and Faith Coleman
  • Dr Francesca McInerney, The University of Adelaide

Unsung Hero of SA - Science Communication

  • Dr Lisa Bailey, RiAus
  • Dr Ingo Koeper, Flinders University
  • Dr Ian Musgrave, The University of Adelaide

Major sponsors

Department for Education and Child Development

Flinders University

University of Adelaide

University of South Australia

Support sponsor


Temple Bruer Wines