Department of State Development

19 May 2016 Arts

Four artists chosen for Leigh Creek Artist in Residence program

Four artists have been selected to take part in the Leigh Creek Artist in Residence program, which will add vibrancy to the Town Centre during the peak tourism season in the Outback.

The Artist in Residence program is a partnership between Country Arts SA, Arts South Australia and Alinta Energy, and will be managed by Country Arts SA.

Country Arts SA invited Australian artists actively engaged or informed by contemporary arts practice to apply for a four to six week residency in the town of Leigh Creek.

Initially for three positions, Arts South Australia funded a fourth position for the Leigh Creek Artist in Residence program due to the level of interest. As a result of the program’s popularity, a fifth position has been created for an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander artist through funding from Arts South Australia.

The residency program provides an opportunity for artists to focus on aspects of their practice while immersed in community in an outback environment. Residencies will be held from now to October 2016.

The successful Leigh Creek Artist in Residence applicants are:

  1. Sue Acheson and Rosemary O’Neill (VIC): ceramics, sculpture, installation, painting, drawing
  2. Josephine Were (SA): performance artist
  3. Mike Tye (SA): film and documentary
  4. Clara Adolphs (NSW): painting

Local Liaison Officer in Leigh Creek Anne-Maree Taranto said there will be some opportunities for school involvement; people from Leigh Creek and surrounding communities will enjoy participating in what artists have to offer. 

Jane Lomax-Smith, Leigh Creek Taskforce said promoting the Arts is a way to retain activity in the township and signal that the Town is definitely open for business.

Arts Minister Jack Snelling said the Leigh Creek Artist in Residence program coincides with the peak tourism season, and will attract visitors into the Town, support local businesses and leave a tangible legacy for the community.