Department of State Development

Nominations now open for membership

Nominations are now open for membership of the State Aboriginal Heritage Committee (SAHC).

Eligible individuals may either self-nominate or be nominated by their local community. There are 11 vacant positions available.

Selection criteria

The Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation will consider nominations from South Australian Aboriginal people over the age of 18 years who live in South Australia and meet the following criteria:

  • Relevant knowledge and experience of Aboriginal cultural heritage in South Australia
  • Experience in advocating on behalf of Aboriginal people for the protection and preservation of Aboriginal heritage
  • Knowledge and understanding of the complexity and diversity of issues for Aboriginal communities in relation to cultural heritage
  • Knowledge and experience of good governance and decision making processes
  • Awareness of the SA Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988
  • Commitment to regularly attend meetings - approximately every six weeks.

How to apply

Nominees are invited to either:

  • Complete the Nomination Form; or
  • Submit a cover letter addressing the selection criteria above (of no more than two pages) and a resume.

Related documents

Nomination Form
Download DOCX | 769 KB
Public Call for Nominations
Download PDF | 45 KB
SAHC Information Sheet
Download PDF | 106 KB

All applications should be submitted in writing via post or email to:

Elisha Douglas
Executive Officer - SAHC
Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation
Department of State Development
GPO Box 320
Adelaide SA 5001

Applications close midnight 30 April 2017

Please note late applications will not be accepted.

Details on the role and membership of the SAHC

The SAHC is established under Section 7 of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988 (AHA).


The SAHC provides advice to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation either on its own initiative or at the request of the Minister with respect to:

  • the making of entries in the central archives and the removal of any such entry
  • measures that should, in the committee’s opinion, be taken for the protection or preservation of Aboriginal sites, objects or remains
  • the appointment of suitable persons as inspectors for the purpose of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988
  • Aboriginal heritage agreements
  • any other matter related to the administration or operation of the AHA or to the protection or preservation of the Aboriginal heritage.

The SAHC may also carry out any other function assigned to the committee by the AHA or by the Minister.

The Aboriginal Heritage (Miscellaneous) Amendment Act 2016 (Amendment Act) came into operation on 24 March 2016. The Amendment Act gives additional functions to the SAHC under new sections 19B, 19C, 19E and 19G. These include powers to appoint certain people or bodies as a Recognised Aboriginal Representative Body. The provisions of the Amendment Act which provide these additional powers will come into operation upon proclamation.


Members are appointed by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation to represent the interests of Aboriginal people throughout the State in the protection and preservation of the Aboriginal heritage.

The current members are:

Sydney Sparrow (Chairperson)
Sydney SparrowMr Sydney Sparrow is a Ngarrindjeri man with extensive experience in dealing with Aboriginal heritage matters, and considerable experience in advocating on behalf of Aboriginal people for the protection and preservation of Aboriginal heritage, evidenced by his longstanding position on the SAHC. Considering his past as a legal practitioner, he has a high level of understanding regarding the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988, and also has an understanding of the recent changes introduced.


Yvonne Agius
Yvonne AgiusMs Yvonne Agius is an esteemed Kaurna elder who has a strong interest in, and commitment to, promoting the protection and preservation of Aboriginal heritage.  She has extensive professional experience ranging from sitting on the board for Aboriginal Legal Rights Movement and the Adelaide City Council Reconciliation Committee. She has also had previous experience on the SAHC.


Glen Wingfield
Glen WingfieldMr Glen Wingfield is a Kokatha man who lives in Port Augusta. Mr Wingfield is the nomination of the Kokatha Aboriginal Corporation. Mr Wingfield has experience in Aboriginal heritage matters throughout his career, providing advice on the ways to preserve and protect Aboriginal heritage. Mr Wingfield also has experience in Aboriginal site recording.   


Quenten Agius
Quenten AgiusMr Quenten Agius is a Narungga man with ties to Ngadjuri and has a strong interest in the protection and preservation of Aboriginal Heritage. He has been a member on the SAHC since 2014. He has been working in Aboriginal heritage for 28 years, and is currently the Chairperson and Senior cultural advisor for Adjahdura Narungga Heritage Group, and Ngadjuri National Aboriginal Corporation. He has a working knowledge of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988.

Robyn Campbell

Ms Robyn Campbell has a passion for advocating on behalf of Aboriginal people for the preservation and protection of Aboriginal heritage. She has experience through her position on the SAHC, as a member of Kungari Aboriginal Heritage Association, and as Co-Chair of the South East Aboriginal Focus Group. She has had experience with the workings of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988 and has recently taken on the role of CEO at Burrandies Aboriginal Corporation.

Peter Miller
Mr Peter Miller is a highly regarded Wirangu man who lives in Ceduna. Mr Miller is the Chairperson of the Far West Coast Aboriginal Corporation. Mr Miller has experience advocating for the protection and preservation of Aboriginal heritage and is active in Aboriginal heritage matters, including as a member of the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation’s Burial Discovery Working Group.  

Helen (Lynn) Smith
Ms Helen Smith is a Barngarla woman who also has traditional ties to the West Coast and Far North peoples. She has been a member of the SAHC since 2008. She is well respected within her community and has a high level of experience with advocating on behalf of Aboriginal people for the protection and preservation of Aboriginal heritage.

Vida Sumner
Photo of Vida SumnerMs Vida Sumner is a First Peoples of the River Murray and Mallee Native Title member. She is also connected through the lower lakes being Ngarrindjeri and Ramindjeri. Vida is active in her community in promoting Aboriginal Arts and has a strong passion for Aboriginal heritage and ensuring its preservation for future generations. She has a sound understanding of the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988, and the recording of Aboriginal sites.


Mark Koolmatrie
Mark KoolmatrieMr Mark Koolmatrie is the Chairperson of the Tribal Owners of the Coorong, Lower Lakes, River Murray, and the Sea. He has a commitment to, and passion for, the preservation of Aboriginal heritage and culture in the Ramindjeri, Tangani, Yarlde, Meintangk, and Ngarrindjeri lands.   



Meeting dates

  • Thursday 27 October 2016
  • Thursday 8 December 2016
  • Thursday 2 February 2017
  • Thursday 16 March 2017 (Mount Gambier)
  • Thursday 13 April 2017
  • Thursday 25 May 2017
  • Thursday 22 June 2017.

Applications to become a Recognised Aboriginal Representative Body (RARB)

Once the Aboriginal Heritage (Miscellaneous) Amendment Act 2016 comes into operation (expected early 2017) the Committee will be able to approve the appointment of Registered Native Title Body Corporates (RNTBC) as RARBs and consider applications from others corporate bodies to become a RARB.

For more information phone (08) 8226 8900